These are the best books to read right now

Elle Griffin
6 min readApr 13, 2020

Like much of the world, I am now working from home. That means that after I’ve closed my laptop and practiced some home yoga, I have seemingly endless amounts of time to fold myself into the pages of a good book.

Reading, to me, is more than just a respite, it’s a chance to deepen my experience of life. Books have helped me heal from depression, develop my craft as a writer, think more creatively, challenge myself professionally, and meditate on the curiosities of our existence.

And so, when our libraries closed, I purchased a few books for every emotional state that might drift my way. Whether I want to change the world, or simply escape to a different one, here are a few books that I think are perfect for the moment.

If you don’t think the economy crashing is the worst thing:

This Could Be Our Future: A Manifesto for a More Generous World
Purchase from your local Bookshop

Written by Yancey Strickler, co-founder of the crowdfunding site Kickstarter, this book imagines a world that isn’t organized by profit, but by generosity. Less a “let’s all be kind to each other” book and more of an actual blueprint for how our society could be designed in a more sustainable and beautiful way, I am really looking…

--

--